Being a Wife to a Hunter

For Nick; my greatest adventure

Some women dread hunting season. I’ve seen shirts that say something like “I won’t hold hunting season against you”, “Love me like you love deer season”, and “We interrupt this marriage to bring you hunting season.”

While all of these are hilarious and I totally understand them, I just don’t feel that way at all. 

My husband is a lover of many things, but he doesn’t express excitement like I do. I mean, yeah…I’m a female, we do express ourselves differently, but some of you may understand what I am saying. You know when your husband, boyfriend, or a male in general is looking forward to something.

For example, all I can talk about lately is the upcoming Thomas Rhett concert. I’m meeting him and freaking out about it. Nick is a huge Jamey Johnson fan, but he doesn’t freak out over concerts/artists like I do. He really doesn’t freak out over anything. But he does get excited about….hunting season. 

It’s something he and other hunters wait on all year long. It’s something our husbands, boyfriends, brothers, etc. have born in their blood. It’s that one morning when they can’t sleep because when they awake its the first day of hunting season. For those of you who have a husband or boyfriend who raises and cares for hunting dogs, you know the excitement is maybe even ten times greater. While you’re his shotgun rider on the first day, all morning on the way to the hunting club, all he can talk about is “turning ’em loose” and “hearing ’em sing.”  All year he has been talking about last season and seasons years ago….

This past summer, I was introduced to “So, You Want to Marry an Outdoorsman” by Michael Bolton. If you are married or dating a man who loves fishing and hunting, this is a good read.

Anyways, there is a line that caught my attention when reading it…it explained Nick so very well:

“A man who gets cold chills at the sight of a golden sunrise on a shimmering lake has no trouble loving the only woman powerful enough to make him want to come home.” 

In my own words, “A man who gets cold chills at the sound of his hunting dogs running a 10 point buck has no trouble loving the only woman powerful enough to make him want to come home.”

So hunting season isn’t a time of year I dread.

I love seeing Nick get his clothes together before each day of hunting. I love seeing him collar up his hunting dogs and hoping they get on a hot track. Excuse me, knowing…knowing they will get on a hot track. I love hearing him hike dogs. I love seeing him in hot pursuit, trying to get in front of a deer. I love it when he aims and shoots, hoping to knock down a fat doe, or big buck. I love hunting with him. I love seeing him so passionate about something. I love hearing him talk about old hunting stories with his Dad. I love being able to create new hunting stories with him.

I know I don’t dread this time of year and I think that’s what I love most of all about hunting season…is seeing him happy.

Nick and I huntingHarley and Copperlove of my life

Love you, babe.

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Carl brown says:

    Where do yall dog hunt at?

    Like

    1. In Rice, VA.
      Near Farmville, do you know where either is?

      Like

  2. donna says:

    This is an amazing analogy of a man! It fits my man to a tee…and I love the thought of how his strong love of hunting is likened to his strong love of a woman!

    Like

  3. Kevin says:

    I deer hunt with dogs down here in Florida and my girlfriend don’t complain at all. She is right there with me. I have an awesome woman.

    Like

    1. Good glad to hear that! Seems like you need to wife her up! 😉

      Like

Leave a comment